Autumn/Winter nail picks

Hey guys, last year I did a post all about my favourite nail polishes for this time of year and I thought it would be nice to update it as my polish collection has definitely grown meaning lots more discoveries of favourite shades!

I go through phases of wearing nail polish all the time and then never at all, but at the moment i’m loving the occasional DIY mani.


Maggie Anne*  £10-50

I did a post a couple of months ago reviewing a Maggie Anne polish and was so impressed with the formula and colour selection. For me they are really ‘gel’ like and very opaque in one coat so great for anyone who wants fuss-free nails. I love Jasper for everyday as it is a really chic colour and I really like Ruby when I fancy something a lot brighter. I think Ruby is one of their newest shade releases which is perfect for this time of year when people want a Christmassy red.

These polishes are also ‘six free’ (free of lots of nasty chemicals), cruelty free and vegan friendly.


Barry M £3-99

I can’t do a nails post without including one or two from Barry M. For me they’re one of my top go-to nail brands and if I want a certain shade I know they will have it. For winter I love their matte range, especially the shade vanilla. It’s such a wintery shade which I think would suit everyone. I also find that the formula doesn’t chip easily so there’s no need to go out and buy a matte top coat especially for this.

I also think that you can’t go wrong with their amazing range of glitters. I picked out moonlight but i’m now realising this was limited edition a couple of years ago. You can definitely find similar ones though!


OPI £12-50

I love wearing dark colours so much this time of year and one of my recent additions is the OPI shade black cherry chutney. It’s described as a dark black red but in my opinion it’s a lot more on the purple side. It also has a subtle shimmer running through it which is really pretty and a little more sophisticated!


Next £4

The shade i’m wearing at the moment is one from Next called well jel. It’s an intensely shimmery peachy pink shade and I think it’s beautiful. It’s also really smooth on the nails which makes it lovely to wear without a topcoat. It seems to be the perfect combination of shimmer without being OTT.

I’ve also noticed that you can get sets of 4 polishes (including this shade) for £10 on the Next website if you fancy treating yourself or as a lovely Christmas gift.


Little Ondine* £11

This brand is only a recent discovery for me but I was so impressed with the formula of the Little Ondine polishes. I have a really intense dark red shade called lava and it’s definitely a one coat wonder.

I also have a glitter polish from this brand called rumba. The only way to describe this is a whole heap of red, purple and gold flecks of all different shapes and sizes all mixed together in a clear polish. For the purpose of the nail swatches I wore it alone but I would usually wear it as a topper on another shade which makes your nails a little more interesting.


L’Oreal £4-99

My all time favourite nail polish shade is a deep burgundy colour and the one i’m currently using it the L’Oreal colour riche in 556. This is really pigmented and is very high shine so looks much more expensive than it actually is!


Collection £3.19

If you’re looking for a real nudey nude (if you know what I mean) this stormy grey shade from Collection is great. I especially love the brush on this as it makes it super easy to apply and not at all streaky. The last time I used this was I was with my best friend and the postman rung the doorbell so I had no choice but to get her to answer so as to not ruin my mani (priorities!).


Nails Inc £15

My last nail pick for Winter is the shade uptown from Nails Inc. I think this brand is totally luxurious and have a really great pastel shade range. I love a dusky rose shade and this one is a really flattering colour so worth investing in if you can.


So that was a lot of nail polishes! I hope you enjoyed reading about my favourite nail polishes for this season and maybe even inspires you to pamper yourself soon!

What’s your current favourite nail polish?

Jess x

*PR samples

13 thoughts on “Autumn/Winter nail picks

  1. annebrooke says:

    Hello, Jess! Love this post – thank you! I’m trying to get more into nails at the moment so this is very timely 🙂 I really love Sally Hansen varnishes as they’re such good coverage and don’t get streaky, hurrah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment