Birthday makeup 🎈

Yay it’s my birthday! When you’re reading this it’s my birthday which is really exciting! For any of you who might be wondering what i’m up to today i’m actually in a tent on holiday for a couple of days. It’s more fun than it sounds…

I did a birthday makeup post last year and I really enjoyed doing it so I thought i’d do another one this year. I had a little look back to my last one today and it’s so lovely to transport back in time to see what products I was loving back then too. I also noticed everyone’s lovely comments which made me a very happy Jess!

ets9c4

Base

First up in my makeup routine i’ve introduced a tiny amount of colour correcting as it’s really helped me cover my redness on my cheeks and my rosacea on my jawline. I just apply a small amount with a buffing brush to my troublesome areas and i’m good to go. I’m using the green one from Nip and Fab which is lovely as it’s so easy to blend.

So for foundation i’ve actually got a relatively new fave which is the Avon true colour flawless foundation. I love this as it provides a light to medium coverage and is totally buildable depending on the type of look you’re going for. This is really easy to apply and works well with a brush or a sponge; I tend to do a bit of both and apply with a brush and then make sure it’s all blended in with my sponge. I’m still using and loving my Basic Beauty Tools sponges if you’re interested!

I think i’ve done it. I’ve found the one. The one concealer I mean! Ever since the Maybelline age rewind concealer came into my life my under-eyes have never looked so good. I use the shade light which is a good match for me although if you’re fair skinned it probably won’t be light enough for you which is such a shame. Hopefully Maybelline will come out with more shades in the future! I just find this has a blurring effect on my dark inner corners which is exactly what I need.

Brows

I’m not really using anything too special on my brows at the moment; i’ve got this Studio 10 universal brow pencil which i’m just trying to finish up before I start anything new. I do like this and it is a good colour match for me but there’s no way i’d want to pay full price for this (I got mine from an old Glossybox).

I’m still using the Miss Sporty clear mascara to set my brows and honestly this does such a good job. I have such unruly eyebrows and I feel like i’ve tried most things from the drugstore that claim to set brows but nothing beats this clear mascara for me. It really holds the hairs in place and this is also very affordable, I totally recommend it.

Cheeks

Believe it or not i’m actually using the same bronzer as last year. I have cracked out this old favourite again and i’d forgotten how much I love it. It’s the Rosie for Autograph bronzer in bronzed beauty and it’s seriously amazing for that all over sun-kissed look!

I think i’ve made it pretty clear that i’m not a blusher gal but this little compact from Milani has kind of stolen my heart. Even though it looks really bright in the pan it blends out into a perfect peachy shade and the hint of shimmer through it helps to make it look really flattering and pretty. This is such a lovely product for summer and I also think this goes really well with my lipstick choice too.

The Collection speedy highlighter will always be a firm favourite for me as it’s just so easy to work with. I like using my LGFB multi tasker brush and taking a bit of product off of the stick and applying to the face rather than drawing a stripe as I find that can sometimes be a bit unforgiving if it’s not perfectly blended out. This is also a great tip if you find these sorts of cream products move your foundation about as you’re applying them.

2zxzi4p

Eyes

Before I apply any eyeshadow I always go in with a light layer of the Maybelline colour tattoo in creamy beige. It stops any creasing going on and helps to make my eyeshadow last all day which is amazing. For light makeup days I love the look of this on it’s own too as it mimics the natural shadows on your eyelids.

Talking of eyeshadow I couldn’t not use my all time fave palette which is the Zoeva cocoa blend palette (AKA the palette of dreams!). I just love how warm toned the shades are as that’s so up my street and in general this is so versatile as you can get a natural muted everyday look out of it or full out shimmer too.

For eyeliner the Joan Collins Beauty eye pencil in brown is a must have for defining the eyes and getting that pretty smudged out look that I wear nearly everyday. The pencil is also huge so this really will last you for ages! The Mascara i’m using at the moment is the Wet n’ Wild max volume and I really do like this as I know I can rely on it to not smudge and to give me beautifully defined and lengthened lashes.

Lips

It was a very easy decision for me in terms of what lipstick I was going to wear on my birthday as i’ve been wearing it pretty much non stop since I got it. It’s the Burt’s Bees lipstick in ‘sunset cruise’ which is the perfect deep pinky coral. So pretty!

I just thought i’d also mention my Birthday perfume as I feel like that’s a really important part of getting ready. I’ve chosen this AvonΒ Viva La Vita Eau De Parfum. This apparently has notes ofΒ fresh pink apple, dewy rose petals and sweet vanilla bean which is just delightful.

Well there you go, another year of birthday makeup. I feel like i’ve discovered so many lovely new products at the moment and it’s so nice to be able to share them with you!

Jess x

this post contains PR samples

19 thoughts on “Birthday makeup 🎈

  1. gingersnapps says:

    I know this is 3 weeks late but I hope you had a lovely birthday and a great time camping! I love camping πŸ™‚ milani blushes are lovely, I’m such a blush hoarder but I’ve not actually bought any from milani yet, I hope to soon πŸ™‚ X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

