The Shadow Switch-hit or miss?

Hi everyone, recently I discovered a really interesting brush cleaning tool and I thought I would share it with you today. The ‘Shadow Switch’ is a dry brush cleaner by the brand Beauty Essentials (available from Amazon). Basically, the idea behind it is that it allows you to be able to switch between eyeshadows using the same brush. I think the concept sounds great, but does it actually work?

oa0v1k

If you are anything like me you try to use as little brushes as possible with eye makeup as, unless you’re using the same eyeshadow again, you will have to wash it before you can use it again. This product tries to eliminate this need and is pretty handy.

2myvhgl

It’s very easy to use; you just swirl the brush around on the sponge inside the tin and it (somehow) removes any shadow on your brush. I have absolutely no idea how this works but it does the job! It basically is just a dry sponge but there must be something a bit special about it that makes it remove the shadow so well. It reminds me a bit of those nail polish remover pots except this one is completely dry.

The eyeshadow brushes I used in this picture have been used in the Shadow Switch. I was kind of expecting the brush to come out completely clean, and of course it’s not meant for that. It’s purpose is to remove any excess eyeshadow which would otherwise transfer when using a different shade.Β So if you’re using darker eyeshadows they might stain the brush slightly – but don’t worry the product has still been removed even if it doesn’t look like it!Β I still give all my brushes a deep clean at the end of each week so that they’re properly clean.

cojs3

According to the packaging you can clean the sponge with warm water and soap which is really handy. It is recommended that the sponge is refilled every two months to keep it hygienic but it’s ultimately up to you how often you replace it- if you only use it occasionally then that might not be so necessary,

Overall I am very impressed with this and it’s becoming very well used every time i’m using eyeshadow at the moment. At Β£5.99 I do think it’s worth the money, especially if you use eyeshadow a lot like me!

Jess x

this post contains a PR sample

13 thoughts on “The Shadow Switch-hit or miss?

Leave a Reply

