Beauty on a budget

Hello everybody, this post is all about affordable beauty. ‘Budget’ beauty products might sometimes have a bit of a bad reputation for being cheaply made, and sometimes bad quality. Yes, of course you’re going to have some bad products in the bunch but the same goes for more expensive products too! It’s all about picking things that are right for you and are going to suit your individual face (which i’m sure is a lovely face too!).

I’ve put together some of my current favourite more affordable beauty products, so you can see the best of what budget makeup has to offer…

001

Miss Beauty flawless matte foundation £1*

Yes, you heard that right… it is actually just £1!  You may not believe me when I say this but I think this is excellent. It’s full coverage and is very lightweight on the skin which is unusual for me for matte foundations as they usually feel quite heavy. If you’ve read my blog for a while you will know that I am a dewy skin lover as I have incredibly dry skin. For that reason I cannot use this all over my face but I love using this on my jawline and on the centre of my cheeks to add coverage as I have a lot of redness in my skin, and this helps so much. I’m loving this and shade 1 is actually a great match for me as it is very yellow toned. If you don’t believe how good it is try it for yourself…

Soap and Glory Archery brow pencil £8*

£8 might feel like a bit of a leap from a £1 foundation but this is pretty affordable compared to the higher end alternatives which cost at least double the price. For me Soap and Glory is one of my all time favourite brands and one I know I can trust. I love their brow products and I’ve loved the double ended brow pencil for ages which has a felt tip on one side and a pencil on the other but this one is so handy as it has the pencil and a spoolie on the other end.

Collection Speedy highlighter £3.99

This highlighter is in stick form which makes it very easy to use and well… speedy! I was going to compare it to the Benefit watts up highlighter but they are totally different; the Benefit is more golden and this is very cool toned but i’m loving both. This product is great in it’s own right and it’s very reasonably priced which makes it even more appealing!

ELF maximum coverage concealer £4.50

ELF is an American brand but they ship to the UK and I bought this concealer a couple of years ago and I love it. I use it to brighten under the eyes and I swear this stuff seems to last forever. It’s a matte finish with no shimmer in so it’s great for blemishes too.

Miss Beauty waterproof mascara £1*

If you’re looking for a new mascara that lasts all day then think about this one! I it doesn’t smudge under the eyes which is a big part of what makes me like or hate mascaras, and it holds a curl so well. I much prefer this to my Revlon volume + length mascara as that crumbles underneath my eyes… so annoying!

Essence lipliner £1

Lipliners are pretty love or hate for me, it really depends on what i’m putting on top or if i’m putting anything on top at all. I love this as it’s a lovely berry shade that I like to wear on it’s own; I just apply a little bit of my Natures Soap lip balm on first to hydrate my lips.

Miss Beauty fine eyeliner £1*

I think i’ve fallen in love with liquid liner again! For ages I couldn’t be bothered with it but this one is so easy to use it’s perfect for me as it has a matte finish and lasts all day. The nib is very precise so you can create very thin lines which is my preferred look for every day.

Soap and Glory sexy mother pucker lip gloss £9

Okay… this isn’t the cheapest lip gloss ever, but in my opinion it’s one of the best. If you like the intense tingly feeling then you’ll love this. I have a small version which i’m not sure if you can buy on it’s own but I got this in last year’s Christmas gift set. This is so pretty on top of lipliners and lipsticks to add shine and a bit of volume.

MUA undress your skin highlighter £3

Some people don’t like this, and yes it isn’t crazily pigmented but I love this MUA highlighter for adding a little bit of glow to my cheeks. It has a pretty lilac sheen on the cheekbones which I think is quite unique and for £3 you can’t go wrong!

Those are the affordable beauty products I think are worth their (very small) price tag! I would love to know what affordable products you’re loving.

Jess x

*PR sample 

 

 

34 thoughts on “Beauty on a budget

Leave a Reply

