Disappointing lip products

Hello everybody, this week i’m going to do a slightly different post and talk about some lip products that have disappointed me! If you’ve read my blog for a while you’ll know i’m not one to bash brands or products at all but i’v been keeping a little pile of products that i’m not a fan of ready to write this post!

So this is the little disclaimer part everyone does on these types of posts! Just because I don’t like the products for whatever reason doesn’t necessarily mean they’re bad. That’s it plain and simple. I also bought all of these products with my own money so its okay for me to be a little disappointed when I spend £20 on a rubbish lip gloss or whatever! Okay now onto the products…

001


Urban Decay Ultra Nourishing lip gloss £15

This is really disappointing for me as I love pretty much everything about this. It is  very pigmented, the lasting power is good and it feels great on the lips.  I just cannot get on with this because of the overwhelming scent! It’s a very chemical-heavy scent which is kinda minty kinda not and after googling i’ve found countless reviews saying the same thing. It’s such a shame as its very off putting meaning I haven’t used it very much.


Topshop lipstick in ‘Ohh La La’ £8

From what i’ve tried Topshop makeup is pretty good. I have a really nice cream blusher and a matte lip bullet but whatever I do I can’t get on with this lipstick formula. I have two shades, but the one I find it hardest to use is ‘Ohh La La’ which is a very vibrant pinky-coral. I find that it clings to dry patches when I apply it and the formula isn’t creamy enough to apply an even layer. Have you tried these? I’d love to know your thoughts on them!


007


MUA Luxe Velvet lip lacquer £3

These lacquers from MUA were one of the first liquid lipstick type products I ever tried. Whilst they’re not the worst (and they’ve been repackaged since I bought mine, possibly even re-formulated?) I think you can buy much higher quality liquid lipsticks from the drugstore. I’m currently loving the NYX lip suede- would anyone like a review? On my lips the lip lacquer can crack and separate; I want these sort of lip products to be long wearing but this one is not for me!


Estée Lauder Signature lipstick in ‘Pink Sand’ £22

This is a really pretty lipstick it just doesn’t suit me! Its very shimmery and pale and doesn’t match my olive skin tone very well. I think this would suit very pale people but for me this is a total thumbs-down. I like the packaging though…


lip swatches


Maybelline Color Drama lip stick pencil £4.99

I’m really disappointed with this purely because of the formula. It’s a crayon type lipstick, pretty much like a chubby lip liner but for me it was not creamy enough to get a good finish on the lips. I might try and use this as a liner to extend the wear of other coral lipsticks though and see if that works.


So that was my very long and slightly ranty post about disappointing lip products. Hopefully I can save you a few pounds next time you go shopping! What lip products have you been loving recently?

Jess x

p.s. please remember to click ‘follow’ if you like this post!

Twitter@sunandteacups
Instagram– ‘sunandteacups’

17 thoughts on “Disappointing lip products

  1. kyuukayayoi says:

    Nice post, and while on the topic of Lip products I’m currently loving my Rimmel Stay Glossy lip gloss in “lily on park lane” my Maybelline lipstick in Hooked on Pink, My Avon Simply Pretty Lovestruck Color Bliss (freakishly long name…) Lipstick in Mysterious Mauve, and two MeNow True Lips lip liners in 055 and 060. These are actually great! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Essentially Me says:

    I’ve been waiting impatiently for today’s post for so long! 🙂 I always love your posts and this one hasn’t failed to disappoint.

    I would recommend that if you’re looking for a good lipstick, then I would recommend looking at the Essence range if you have a Wilko store nearby. They’re not the best but they’re great for only £2-ish.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Essentially Me says:

        Aww that’s sweet 🙂 I’ve been reading your blog for a good few months now. Your blog is always a place I come to make me smile 🙂 If you look down the side on my blog (essentiallymebeauty.blogspot.co.uk) you’ll also see that I listed your blog under my top 5 blogs 😉 x

        The Essence lipsticks are amazing!! I have the shades ‘Natural Beauty’ and ‘Oh So Matt!’ – two that I would definitely recommend. The colour is evident but not too overpowering which I think helps create the perfect natural look – their matte lipsticks aren’t too drying either x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

